Fantasy Fix

Need a fantasy fix while you’re counting down to Game of Thrones? My fantasy short, “A Room Apart”, is available to read for free online. An affectionate parody of epic fantasy/sword & sorcery genre tropes, it takes aim at such classics as Game of Thrones, Legend of the Seeker, and The Chronicles of Narnia.

I first wrote this story in a writing workshop class in college under the title, “My Roommate is from Narnia”. Thus, it also lovingly pokes fun at my alma mater, Hampshire College, as going there is truly akin to falling through a portal into another world. After college the tale sat in a drawer for several years before being published in The Cost of Paper: Volume Three (currently a steal on Amazon at four dollars and change), alongside all manner of stories from the talented folks of 1888 (formerly Blackhill Press).

I’m so glad this romp of nerdery found a home, so I could share it with people outside the “Hampshire bubble” and geeks the world over. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Valar morghulis!

One thought on “Fantasy Fix

  1. I remember reading that story a while back. I was glad to read it again. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

