If you don’t have a chronic illness, don’t talk about your spoons

This right here. When normal people are tired they rest and then they are better. When someone with a chronic illness is “out of spoons” their ability level is shot and their fatigue is overwhelming and may take days (or weeks or longer) to recover.

hollie butler

EDIT May 18th, 2017:Several people have written to ask if they “count” as a spoonie because they have a mental illness like anxiety or depression. Yes, yes! It’s right now 6am in Seattle, and I’m about to leave on a trip with my husband to California to visit the Stanford Infectious Disease Clinic, where Jose Montoya is doing research into what causes Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I’m going to be a new patient, and see if they have any treatments that might help me. I’ll be back on Saturday, and I want to write more about this, but in the meantime, I want to apologize for failing to clarify what I mean by “chronic illness”. ANY chronic condition that causes fatigue, is a chronic illness. I’ve lived with panic disorder for over a decade, I’m painfully aware of the fatigue that it can cause. Depression, cancer, anything that is chronic…

View original post 1,264 more words

Leave a Reply

