A Yule Story

winter-wolves

So, I’ve been a bit delayed in getting this up, but I’m happy to announce that I have another short story out in a new anthology. As some of you may recall from this earlier post, my writer’s block coincided with my laments of a lack of accurate, non-stereotyped, modern depictions of pagans in the media, particularly children’s media. So, I set out to write a story about the kind of pagans I know in real life for the winter-themed third installment in the Wolf Warriors charity anthology series. Thus, “Yuletide Carols” was born.

While I wrote this story with kids and pagans in mind, I feel certain adults and people of any religious or non-religious background can enjoy it, just as anyone can enjoy The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, Child of the Owl, or My Basmati Bat Mitzvah (diverse books, FTW!). To write this tale, I drew heavily on my own childhood experiences in the pagan communities and small town schools of rural New England. I consider it both a love note and a thank you note to the people and places who shaped me as a person and as a writer.

“Yuletide Carols” follows fourth-grader McKenna Randolph as she navigates her elementary school’s first faltering steps towards recognizing their multifaith student body, prepares to celebrate Yule with her church, and goes looking for the truth to an old mystery in a quiet winter wood. Find it in the Winter Wolves anthology on Amazon, available in both print and e-book formats. And, hey, you’ll help raise money for wolves in the process.

Here’s the blurb from the back of the book if you want to know more. And it even references my Yule story! Happy reading and God Jul!

Wolves have terrified and mystified us, their howls echoing through the words of our fairy tales, the texts of our stories, and the deepest crevices of our imaginations. Wolf Warriors III presents a diverse collection of artwork, poetry, essays, and short stories, featuring award-winning writers Juley Harvey and Graham Houghton. This anthology captures the various faces of the wolf in winter: from the wolves howling at the Yule festival to the wolf eyes staring at you through the blizzard. The howls of these warriors will make you smile, make you cry, and, most of all, make you want to raise your own howl to join the chorus.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Yule Story

  1. Andrew McDowell says:

    Congratulations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

