Mythy Goodness and Folksy Links

Happy Ostara!

Even if it doesn’t look like spring outside, I’ve been doing a little spring cleaning here on the blog. Most notably, I’ve added a Myth/Folk/Fairy Tale Resources section beneath my Blogroll. Through the years, I’ve had a lot of people in my life ask my recommendations for books on mythology, religion, etc, whether for fun, for their own self-taught educational purposes, for research paper sources, or to get more bedtime stories for their kids. Thus, I thought I would extend the same service to the good people who visit my blog, since epic/oral lit, classics, myth/folk, and fairy tales are a large part of what I talk about here, so chances are it interests some of you.

I tried to have a balance of academic and non-academic, as well as links that would be helpful to myth buffs and parents of small children alike. Hopefully there is something for everyone, whether you need access to an ancient religious text, articles about modern minority faiths, or a good story to share with the younglings. I’m sure I’ll add to the list as I think of and come across new resources. If you know of any you think I’m neglecting, feel free to share it and I’ll take a gander.

I’ll also try to post my own “Best Of” lists for books of myths/folktales/fairy tales and books about myths/folktales/fairy tales in the coming year.

Leave a Reply

